Best answer: What are the 11 sections of forensics?

What are the 11 areas of forensic science?

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences, which represents more than 6,000 scientists, organizes the forensic sciences into 11, distinct sections:

  • Criminalistics.
  • Digital and Multimedia Sciences.
  • Engineering Sciences.
  • General.
  • Jurisprudence.
  • Odontology.
  • Pathology/Biology.
  • Physical Anthropology.

What are the 10 sections of forensic science according to the American Academy of Forensic Science?

How Many Disciplines are in Forensic Science?

  • Criminalistics.
  • Engineering Sciences.
  • Jurisprudence.
  • Odontology.
  • Pathology & Biology.
  • Physical Anthropology.
  • Psychiatry & Behavioral Science.
  • Questioned Documents.

What are the divisions of forensic science?

Different divisions and their functional activities

  • Biology / Serology Division.
  • Chemistry Division.
  • Toxicology Division.
  • Physics/ Ballistics Division.
  • Documents Division.
  • Cyber Forensic Division. Undertakes examination of: …
  • Polygraph Division (Proposed for establishment) • …
  • District Mobile Laboratory.

What are the ten main areas of discipline in forensic science?

Exhibit 1 shows these subdisciplines: Forensic biology and DNA; forensic anthropology; forensic odontology; forensic pathology; medicolegal death investigation; forensic toxicology; controlled substances; fire and arson investigation; impression and pattern evidence; firearms and toolmarks; bloodstain pattern analysis; …

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  What is forensic science kid definition?

What are the two main tools for documenting a crime scene?

for the crime-scene investigators. Crime-scene investigators document the crime scene in detail and collect physical evidence. Crime-scene investigators include recorders to record the data, sketch artists to sketch the scene, photographers to take photos of the crime scene, and evidence collectors.

Which area of forensic science matches projectiles to firearms?

Forensic ballistics involves the examination of evidence from firearms that may have been used in a crime. When a bullet is fired from a gun, the gun leaves microscopic marks on the bullet and cartridge case.

What are the 5 branches of forensic science?

There are many branches in the practice of Forensic Medicine, including forensic pathology, clinical forensic medicine, forensic toxicology, forensic serology, forensic psychiatry, and forensic anthropology.

What are 8 specific fields of study in forensic science?

What is forensic science?

  • Forensic anthropology.
  • Forensic engineering.
  • Forensic odontology.
  • Forensic pathology.
  • Forensic entomology.
  • Toxicology.

What are the three main branches of forensic science?

Forensic science is therefore further organized into the following fields: Trace Evidence Analysis. Forensic Toxicology. Forensic Psychology.